CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

The Eighteenth-Century Russian Empire Studies Association (ECRESA), an affiliate organization of the Association for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ASEEES), is now accepting submissions for the 2024 annual Marc Raeff Book Prize. We encourage both presses and individual scholars to submit nominations to the members of the prize committee (listed below).

The Raeff Book Prize is awarded for a publication that is of exceptional merit and lasting significance for understanding the Russian Empire during the long 18th century. The recipient of the award will be recognized with a cash prize, which will be presented in November 2024 during the ASEEES annual convention in Philadelphia. The award is sponsored by the ECRESA and named in honor of Marc Raeff (1923-2008), historian, teacher, and dix-huitièmiste par excellence.

Please address all questions about the prize to Endre Sashalmi (Committee Chair) at <u>endresashalmi@gmail.com</u>

Submissions should be made (see Nominating Instructions below) by June 30, 2024.

Eligibility

The publication must be a monograph (single author or multi-author), translation, or reference work about any aspect of the long 18th century, on any of the territories of the former imperial Russian state. Textbooks, festschrifts, and edited collections of essays are not eligible.

The submitted work must bear a copyright date of 2023 or 2024.

Books that were already nominated for the prize in 2023 are not eligible.

Nominated works can be published in any language and in any format (analog or digital). If a nominated work is in a language other than those known by the ECRESA Selection Committee members (Russian, English, Ukrainian, German, French, Italian, Polish, Hungarian), the committee will make a good faith effort to solicit reports from qualified scholars in the field who are conversant in that language.

The geographic area of study is broadly defined as the territories of the former imperial Russian state and the Soviet Union. The publication must deal in whole or in part with the long 18th century, though preference is given to books fully devoted to that the period, defined here as the last quarter of the 17th century to the first quarter of the 19th century.

Books that have received other prizes are eligible.

Scholarly merit, originality, and felicity of style will be the main criteria for selection.

Nominating Instructions

Any scholar in the field can nominate a book for the prize. Self-nominations are welcome. Nominations can be made by email to Endre Sashalmi, Committee Chair or to any member of the ECRESA Prize Selection Committee (listed below).

Publishers: if you nominate a book, please send a printed copy to each ECRESA Prize Selection Committee member (addresses below); in exceptional circumstances, especially in the case of books from outside the US, UK, and the European Union, a digital copy may be acceptable.

Nominations must be received no later than 30 June 2024. The award winner will be announced in mid-October 2024.

ECRESA Prize Selection Committee:

Andrey Ivanov Associate Professor of History 142 Gardner Hall 1 University Plaza University of Wisconsin - Platteville Platteville, WI 53818 (for digital copies/e-books - <u>ivanovan@uwplatt.edu</u>)

Kirill Kochegarov Institute of Slavic Studies Russian Academy of Sciences Leninskii Prospekt, **32-A** 119334 Moscow Russia (for digital copies/e-books - <u>kirill-kochegarow@yandex.ru</u>)

Erica Camisa Morale Via privata Portoferraio, 4 20141 Milano (MI) Italia (for digital copies/e-books – <u>camisamo@usc.edu</u>)

Prof. Endre Sashalmi 13 Kincsesi str. Kincsesbánya Hungary-8044 (for digital copies/e-books<u>-endresashalmi@gmail.com</u>)

Prof. Dr. Ricarda Vulpius Schopenhauerstr. 60 14129 Berlin Germany (for digital copies/e-books: <u>ricarda.vulpius@uni-muenster.de</u>)